¡Saludos! from Nicaragua

It’s hard to believe I’ve been here in Nica for about 3 weeks now. Time has surely flown, and I’m already thinking about changing my plane ticket so I can stay here longer. After hearing personal accounts of many a traveler I’ve met here, this country seems to have that effect on more than a few “temporary” visitors.

To my friends and family at home, yes, I am here for co-op (semester-long internship to those unfamiliar with Northeastern’s structure)… not just vacation. Though Facebook pictures may allude to a different story. I’ll be working for a local NGO called Masaya Sin Fronteras (MASINFA); they work on education, public health, and environmental preservation in the city of Masaya. But work doesn’t start until the 27th of January. For now, I am living at a friend’s apartment in León, taking spanish lessons and soaking up the many amazing sights and adventures the country has to offer.

I started off my stay in Nicaragua with a service trip through the US-based organization FriendsNE. I’ll be writing a separate post up about the experience volunteering with Friends — soon!

I hope to catalogue some of the places I’ve visited and adventures had in shorter posts and photos as I have free time.

I may also be guest bloggin’ on my Boston roommate Lauren’s blog, ‘From Lauren to Allie‘ from time to time. Because she’s the sweetest person in the world, she is writing about her semester in Frankfurt in a letter format to me, but for all the world to read. Check it out!

Sending lots of love to anyone who is reading this. If you’re in Boston I send about 15 degrees to you. It’s a sweltering 90 degrees here in León.

The Land of Lakes and Volcanoes

One thought on “¡Saludos! from Nicaragua

Leave a Reply

